Posted by: Aspie Noodle | March 3, 2013

A journey to a healthier life.

Two weeks ago I made a post about my discovery of the Blood-type diet, and since then a lot has changed in my life.

I have made a complete switch of the foods I eat, and although I’m not fully adhering to every single food assigned to my blood type (I’m still eating bananas! :P), I have fully eliminated all animal products and wheat from the things I eat.

And I feel wonderful.

I know it’s only two weeks down the line, and it will probably take another two weeks for my body to fully adjust, but this way of eating has completely changed how I feel, body, mind and soul.

Now, granted it’s not just the food that has changed, I’ve also started Do-in (meridian stretching and more) and a lot of my autism symptoms have been reduced.

I’m a lot more… well… zen.

As I’ve written before in my Martial Arts post, I’ve always been drawn to certain ideals in budō. Specifically the zen aspect, the meditation, the inner peace. Well… Do-in is like that, and then without the violence of martial arts. There are a lot of similarities with yoga and the roots of the two, I think, go back millennia and meet at some point. It basically makes me listen to, and understand my own body and its reaction to the outside world.

After an hour of Do-in I feel incredibly calm. I feel at peace, and I can handle a LOT more of the things that trigger negative reactions, such as crowds, noise, lights. All those unpleasant things.

I’m still working on the “thoughts thing”, on controlling the amount of stuff swirling around in my brain, and proper meditation is one of those points I really need to learn from the beginning. But the physical aspect, the unwanted reception and internalisation of too many outside stimuli, and the subsequent blockages and anxiety due to overloading, has been severely lessened since I switched around my diet and started Do-in.

So, apparently I now eat vegan. (I do not see myself as ‘A Vegan’. Partly due to the fact that until two weeks ago I ate meat, and also because one of the other things I am working on is shedding labels, but that deserves its own blogpost, because it’s also very much about the autism.)

My diet now basically consists of high protein seeds (such as quinoa) and grains (oatmeal made from whole oats, home-cut and soaked in water overnight!), pretty much all green vegetables and also other vegetables with low starch levels, and occasional lentils and beans (chick peas and red lentils are some of my faves!). A lot of fruit (mostly berries, but also pineapple, banana, pears, apples), seed oils (flax, sesame), olive oil and tofu and other soy products. I love eating spelt bread with a big layer of wasabi hummus, carrot slices and pumpkin seeds. 🙂

I mostly focus on leaving out animal products and eating only wheat-free products, but of course I also try to stay away from processed sugar and any kind of additive. I cook fresh, only buy certified organic foods, and drink mostly green tea and water. 🙂 Sometimes I will put some maple syrup in my oatmeal, but that’s pretty much it.

I don’t go hungry, I don’t skip any meals, and after eating I feel fulfilled and happy. No cravings, or nervous binging.

Since switching I’ve lost even more weight, but that is to be expected with such a drastic reduction of animal fats. I’ve spoken to my G.P. and I know what to watch out for, weight-wise, but there is nothing wrong with the foods I eat or my weight for now. The most important thing is to eat a large variety, which is why I am not limiting myself as fully as recommended in the blood-type diet book.

I have no idea whether the great way I feel now has anything to do with eating adequate for my blood type, or simply eating adequate for me. I’ve always felt really bad about eating meat, and I’ve been considering going vegetarian for a few months now. The exclusion of dairy and wheat isn’t that much of a step away from there.

All in all, I cannot say that this is the way to eat for someone on the spectrum. The only thing that makes sense to me, and that I’d want to pass on to everyone, whether it is someone with autism or not, is that we need to listen to our bodies. Reducing stress, especially in this busy life we lead, should be one of our biggest goals. The foods we eat have a huge influence on our energy. I’m only slowly understanding to what extend.

What we put inside our bodies is the fuel. If our body cannot metabolise it, or it even reacts badly to certain substances, we should eliminate those things and focus on that which makes us feel better.

Responses

  1. I’s great to hear your changes are having you feeling wonderful.


Leave a Reply

Categories