Posted by: Aspie Noodle | March 23, 2013

Changes.

w_MG_6773

So, I started this blog at the very beginning of my journey of improving myself. At that point I had no direction, no clear expectations, not an idea of how to even walk.

I was only going to write about my Asperger’s Syndrome, but since then I have learned a lot. It actually feels like since then (and it was only a month or two ago) I have learned more than I have learned in all of my adult life combined.

I’m thinking about transitioning this blog, and incorporating these changes I’m going through. I will still write about Asperger’s since it’s a part of me, even if I aim to move away from that specific label. Any label, really, because I feel like labels restrict me. They are roadblocks on my path to feeling better about myself.

Around the same time I started this blog I discovered for myself the Taoist teachings of the Five Elements, and of Yin and Yang. It really transformed my view of a lot of things. Granted, the whole transition into a better way of life for me will take a long time, and I have the feeling I will often take one step back for every two steps I progress. Old habits die hard, as they say. It’s the truth. But I want to move away from the conditioning that made me but a shadow of who I really am.

So, since about a month now I’m eating a fully vegan diet, and I meditate, I practice Do-in as often as I can, I have Shiatsu treatments and I’m learning more and more about what foods to eat at what times. I’m not doing a hardcore detox yet, I’m not sure I’d benefit from hard and fast as opposed to slow and mild. Maybe once I’m more in-tune with my body I will know what to do.

I’ve had some blood tests done parallel to meridian treatments and both revealed that I am borderline anaemic due to iron absorption problems. That does not help with my Asperger symptoms, obviously, so my main focus will be my spleen and restoring my blood quality.

I’m also thinking a lot about what Asperger’s and Autism really are. How much of the symptoms are caused by the wrong foods? I do believe we, autistic persons, simply are a certain way, but maybe the things we struggle with are being amplified by a bad/misinformed diet, and toxins in our organs and blood.

So. Yes.

I want to continue with this blog. Once I can form some more coherent thoughts about my experiences I want to make more posts again. Right now I’m pretty much cleansing and learning. Eliminating harmful things from my life, and introducing good things instead.

All in all, looking back at those two months, I can say with certainty that a lot of my Aspie Symptoms have lessened. This is not about suppressing who I am. I am not talking about a cure or something silly like that. It’s more along the lines of finding peace and harmony within myself, so that the things that make me different will easier translate into strengths than into struggles.

Responses

  1. I’m glad to see you want to continue blogging. You inspire me!


Leave a Reply

Categories