Posted by: Aspie Noodle | April 20, 2013

The plant-based, whole food way of eating and what it is doing to my… well… Asperger’s Syndrome.

It has been almost three months since I gave up all animal products and it has been the same amount of time since I’ve had my last meltdown.

What do I eat these days?

f_MG_7768

A plant-based, whole food way of eating is basically a vegan way of eating, minus the refined plant products. So, no processed junk food, and keeping everything as close to its natural state as possible.

I’m not eating 100% raw, I still cook some rice, quinoa and pasta, or fry some tofu and seitan every now and then, but at least half of my food intake is raw fruits and vegetables. I have become a bit of a banana fiend, my daily max so far being nine. Yes, nine bananas, spread over a day and mixed with other foods. And that’s nothing compared to true fruitarians out there who can eat nothing but up to seventy bananas in a day.

But I’m really quite moderate. I’m exploring, experimenting. I’m eating foods I’ve never even heard of before. The variety of foods I eat has probably gone up ten-fold. I cook every meal myself, and I know exactly what goes in it.  I can still have all my favourite foods: noodles! sushi! Just a healthier variety. 🙂

I’m staying away from typical vegan junk food like fries, cookies and vegan cakes, vegan ice cream or any other processed meat/dairy replacement food. This means I don’t eat refined sugar or refined flour.

My one vice: raw chocolate (low-temperature processed organic vegan cocoa) every now and then. After all, I’m still a woman. 😛

How do I feel?

I feel fantastic. Absolutely incredibly fantastic. I’m not exaggerating. The change is absolutely amazing.

My BMI went from almost 24 down below 21, I have more energy than in years (I feel a bit like a springy teenager, actually), my skin is soft and clear, my sinuses are no longer swollen, the sclera of my eyes has become incredibly white and my head is no longer foggy.

I feel recovered, rebooted… reborn.

Of course the path wasn’t exactly smooth. I went cold-turkey, and I switched my food around 100% from one day to the next. Some pretty uncomfortable detoxing happened, which is especially due to the huge amount of dairy I consumed prior to becoming vegan.

But I made it, and I still felt better during the first few weeks than I had felt the months before making the switch.

Asperger’s symptoms.

Now first off, let me tell you, healthy food is no “cure”, because Asperger’s is not a disease. I am the way I am, and I am still the same person I was three months ago.

That said, a lot of the things I used to really struggle with, due to who I am, were very much amplified by my bad diet. Especially a high animal-protein diet, such as the low-carb diet I did in January.

Now I know that animal protein is bad. BAAAAD. Especially for us, people with sensitive bodies.

See, animal protein makes our body more acidic. Our blood turns sour. So our body takes a lot of energy and resources to combat that. It needs phosphorus to neutralise the acidity, and where does it find it? In our bones. You see, our bones are phosphorus and calcium joined together. The phosphorus is needed to neutralise our blood… and the calcium. Well. We pee it out. (yes, this is why the countries with highest dairy consumption have highest number of osteoporosis. For more info read The China Study)

That is only one of the many processes our body goes through to balance out the damage we do with animal products. Another one is the effort it takes to push rotting animal carcasses through our herbivore digestive system. Our intestines are far too long to be able to get rid of the meat we eat and cannot digest before it starts to rot.

All this means: a lot of extra stress on our body, on our immune system and on our senses.

A plant-based diet is, in contrast, very gentle to our system, because that is what our body is meant to use as fuel. It’s our natural, genetically destined diet.

The impact this lifestyle change has had on my Asperger’s symptoms was a real eye-opener.

I am so much more calm. I’m very relaxed. I don’t get worked up so easily anymore. I have a grip on panic situations, and I can handle larger crowds without freaking out. My skin is so much smoother that fabrics and textures irritate me less.

I mean, I still have all those things, but so, so much less.

I will always remain more… susceptible to certain things than an average person. But now, by no longer putting my system under unnecessary stress, I have a much larger tolerance range.

I’m sure that part of this change must also be accredited to my discovery of shiatsu and meridian stretching. I can seriously recommend shiatsu massages to anyone on the autism spectrum. I know the idea to have a stranger touch you is very scary, and it took me a while to have the courage and make an appointment. Luckily I found a person I instantly trusted, and it’s most definitely worth the effort to try and find someone you are comfortable with. Shiatsu alleviates a lot of the stress we feel on a daily basis and it returns balance to our body and mind.

What’s next?

That is the big question.

I’m dealing with A LOT of resistance to this lifestyle change in my immediate social circle. People can see I’m healthier and happier and yet they still criticise and attack me for the way I now eat. I’m trying to push through that, but it’s quite a struggle. Thankfully, I can handle it just fine, whereas before, I would have probably had several meltdowns due to dealing with all this hostility from people who were supposed to love me unconditionally.

I’m nearing a crossroads, and I think if I slow down enough, I may just have enough time to consider and make the right choices.

As to Asperger’s… I want to peel that label off me. It will not change who I am, but I have recently learned that giving things a name is restrictive, and keeps you from processing, growing and learning.

I won’t change the blog title or my handle, and I think a blog like this is one of the few places where such a label is warranted and actually useful. But in my daily life I am removing myself from such a simple designation, because I’m not “somebody who has Asperger’s Syndrome”. I’m just somebody. I’m me.

Responses

  1. Isn’t it AWESOME how much of a difference eating clean and plant-based makes? 😀

    Thank you for sharing your story; it’s inspiring and encouranging to read about others who have experienced life-changing health benefits through diving into their kitchen and kicking some ass.

  2. Yes! It’s awesome! 😀

    And I’m not sure whether I’m kicking ass in the kitchen, or whether every now and then I still fumble and kick some shins or step on culinary toes. Hehe. But I’m getting there. 😀

    Thank you for reading and commenting! 🙂

  3. Interesting – I’ve had the opposite experience: My health got so much better when I started eating meat. I respond quite badly to dairy too, though.


Leave a Reply

Categories